Penafiel is located in the district of Porto, in an interfluvial area demarcated by the rivers Tâmega and Sousa that flow into the river Douro.
It’s the second oldest city in the north of Portugal, with more than 250 years. Town known until the 18th century by the name Arrifana de Sousa.
Penafiel offers tradition, heritage, typicality, landscape and unique flavors.
The architectural and natural history has left visible marks in the region that allows visitors to have a memorable cultural and landscape experience. Proof of this are: the Romanesque Route with monuments like monasteries and churches, walking routes through old rural paths in the middle of nature, the recovered mills (bread cycle) and preserved rural villages such as the village of Quintandona, classified as “Aldeia de Portugal” (typical portuguese rural village).
Regional cuisine can be tasted in local restaurants or at Casa Valxisto - Country House where portuguese stew, typical dry soups, kid roasted in the oven are some of the delicacies to taste accompanied by the region's green wine or the Douro wine.
Founded in 1948, the Municipal Museum of Penafiel is located in the historic center of the city. It currently has several living extensions, including the preserved rural village of Quintandona. Endowed with a strong multimedia component, it was nominated in 2010 for the “Best European Museum of the Year” award and in the same year it was considered the best portuguese museum.
About 8km from the house is “Castro de Monte Mozinho” or “Cidade Morta de Penafiel”. It was a Castro village from Roman times, founded in the 1st century.
Fortified with two lines of walls, and with approximately 22 hectares, it presents several urban reforms, being possible to observe several types of construction, from nuclei of patio houses of Castro tradition, with circular compartments and vestibule, to the complex Roman dwellings of square plan or rectangular.
Also noteworthy is the 1st century wall, at the entrance of which were two statues of Galactic warriors. The top of the castro is crowned by the acropolis, bounded by a thick wall and barren in interior constructions. There, various activities would take place, such as games, assemblies, the market, etc…
The excavations at Castro de Monte Mozinho started in 1943, and the collection can be seen at the Municipal Museum of Penafiel.
The proximity of the Douro offers the opportunity to be dazzled by the landscapes of the vineyards on a boat or train ride; have lunch overlooking the vineyards; feel history through the best wines in the world and at the end of the day, return to the tranquility of Casa Valxisto - Country House.
Casa Valxisto - Country House is located in the middle of three places classified as World Heritage, the historic center of the city of Porto, the historic center of the city of Guimarães and the Douro wine region, being the ideal place to start your discovery …